Navigationsweiche Anfang

Navigationsweiche Ende

Select language

Prof. Dr. Gerald Hartung
Foto: UniService Transfer


What’s a Philosopher Doing at the Zoo?
A conversation with Professor Dr. Gerald Hartung

According to, Professor Dr. Gerald Hartung, a German philosopher and Professor of Cultural Philosophy and Aesthetics at the University of Wuppertal: “Research involves making philosophical schools of thought visible”. He made the remark during a knowledge-transfer conversation with Prof. Dr.-Ing. Anke Kahl, VC for Finance, Planning and Research & Knowledge Transfer and Dr. Peter Jonk, Head of the Research & Knowledge Transfer Office at the University of Wuppertal.

Professor Hartung’s work is primarily focused on Cultural Philosophy, Philosophical Anthropology, the History of 19th and 20th-century Philosophy, the Theory of Philosophical History, and Textual Scholarship. Beyond that, he devotes his time to studying the History of Philosophy and Science in the 19th and 20th-centuries as well as Modern German-Jewish Cultural and Intellectual History. Among other achievements, he is joint editor of the multi-volume work: Grundriss der Geschichte der Philosophie. Die Philosophie des 19. Jahrhunderts. Philosophie im deutschsprachigen Raum.

The interviewer was particularly interested in Hartung’s interpretation of the transfer concept. Hartung’s views on this subject are very clear. For him, the term “transfer” refers to the dissemination of know-how to a heterogeneous public (i.e., a broad cross-section of society) and not so much the transfer of knowledge to other experts.

In practical terms, he implements the transfer concept, inter alia, via a project partnership known as “School of Thought”, which is funded by the Robert Bosch Foundation (Robert Bosch Stiftung GmbH). Orientation courses are developed together with researchers, students and schoolchildren, all of which pertain to the project topic: “which nature do we need for a good life? On the meaning of nature in the 21st century”. These courses can serve as the basis for a conscious and sustainable management of nature as the natural habitat of mankind.

Degas und Rodin – a lecture series at the Von der Heydt Museum

In parallel with the major exhibition “Edgar Degas and Auguste Rodin – Giants in the Race to Modernity”, Professor Hartung will be organising a series of lectures at the Von der Heydt Museum. In the course of six evening events – between 2016 and January 2017 – representatives of Art Studies, Romance Studies, Cultural Studies and Philosophy will be delivering a series of lectures during the course of which ideas present in the exhibited works will be picked up and developed in relation to the relevant disciplinary perspectives. A common theme running through all lectures is shared journeys into the impressive cultural scene of 19th-century Paris, dominated, as it was, by the painting of light and impressionist sculpture.

The next lecture will be held on the 17th The 01rd 2017 at the Von der Heydt Museum. Prof. Dr. Hans Körner (Düsseldorf) will be discussing “Uncut Stone and Statuary – The Materiality of Memory in 19th and early 20th-Century French Memorials”.

Wuppertal Zoo Discussions

In addition there are the so-called “Wuppertal Zoo Discussions” that have been taking place since 2012 as part of the General Studies lecture series “What is a Human?” in the zoo’s ape enclosure. This collaboration between the University of Wuppertal Philosophy Section and Wuppertal Zoo now constitutes a distinct lecture series on Primatology as well as Biological and Philosophical Anthropology. Reports on current research and scientific findings are presented in the course of these evening lectures each of which includes a discussion round.

And yes, it really does push philosophical schools of thought into the limelight, for Prof. Hartung was awarded the “Innovation Prize”, a category of the so-called Wuppertaler Lehrlöwen (teaching lions) in 2016 for outstanding teaching.

The next Zoo Discussion is scheduled to take place on the 24th of January 2017 at 18:00 at the Wuppertal Zoo’s ape enclosure. Prof. Dr. Roland Borgards (Würzburg) will be lecturing on “Literary Primatology: Wilhelm Hauff’s fairytale The Ape as Man (Der Affe als Mensch)”.

(Talk from June 2016)

Prof. Dr. Gerald Hartung achieved his habilitation (i.e., a post-doctoral qualification) in 2002 at the Faculty of Social Sciences and Philosophy at Leipzig University, where he continues to work as a senior academic assistant. He first came to the University of Wuppertal as a deputy professor in 2008 and became Professor of Cultural Philosophy and Aesthetics in 2010.

http://www.philosophie.uni-wuppertal.de/de/kulturphilosophie/professorinnen/prof-dr-gerald-hartung.html

Press release

Navigationsweiche Anfang

Navigationsweiche Ende

Sprache wählen

Prof. Dr. Gerald Hartung / Philosophie
Foto: UniService Transfer

Was macht ein Philosoph im Zoo?

Ein Gespräch mit Professor Dr. Gerald Hartung

„Forschung heißt, philosophische Denkbewegungen sichtbar machen“, sagt der deutsche Philosoph und Professor für Kulturphilosophie und Ästhetik an der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal, Professor Dr. Gerald Hartung in einem Transfergespräch mit der Prorektorin für Planung, Finanzen und Transfer, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Anke Kahl und dem Leiter der Wissenschaftstransferstelle, Dr. Peter Jonk.

Die Arbeitsschwerpunkte von Professor Hartung liegen in den Bereichen Kulturphilosophie, Philosophische Anthropologie, Philosophiegeschichte des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts, Theorie der Philosophiegeschichtsschreibung und Editionswissenschaft. Darüber hinaus widmet er sich der Forschung zur Philosophie- und Wissenschaftsgeschichte des 19. u. 20. Jahrhunderts sowie der Deutsch-Jüdischen Kultur- und Geistesgeschichte der Moderne. Er ist u. a. Herausgeber des mehrbändigen Werkes „Grundriss der Geschichte der Philosophie. Die Philosophie des 19. Jahrhunderts. Philosophie im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Ein besonderes Anliegen der Interviewer war die Frage nach seinem Transferverständnis. Da hat Hartung ganz klare Vorstellungen. Transfer bedeutet für ihn die Übermittlung von Wissen an ein heterogenes Publikum (also z. B. die breite Öffentlichkeit) und nicht so sehr die Vermittlung an ein Fachpublikum.

Praktisch setzt er den Transfergedanken u.a. mit einer unter der Robert-Bosch Stiftung geförderten Projektpartnerschaft mit dem Titel „Denkwerk“ um. Gemeinsam mit Wissenschaftlern, Schülerinnen und Schülern und Studierenden, mit Blick auf das Projektthema "Welche Natur brauchen wir für ein gutes Leben? Zur Bedeutung von Natur im 21. Jahrhundert" werden Orientierungskurse erarbeitet, die als Grundlage eines bewussten und nachhaltigen Umgangs mit Natur als Umwelt des Menschen dienen können.

Degas und Rodin – Vortragsreihe im Von der Heydt Museum

Parallel zur großen Ausstellung „Edgar Degas und Auguste Rodin – Giganten im Wettlauf zur Moderne“ organisiert Professor Hartung eine Vortragsreihe im Von der Heydt Museum. An sechs Abenden werden – zwischen Oktober 2016 und Januar 2017 – Vertreter/innen der Kunstwissenschaft, Romanistik, Kulturwissenschaft und Philosophie Vorträge halten, in denen die Impulse der ausgestellten Werke aufgenommen und in disziplinärer Perspektive vorgestellt werden. In den Vorträgen geht es um gemeinsame Reisen in die beeindruckende Kulturszene der Metropole Paris, der Hauptstadt des 19. Jahrhunderts, die von der Malerei des Lichts und von impressionistischer Plastik geprägt war.

Wuppertaler Zoogespräche

Daneben gibt es noch die „Wuppertaler Zoogespräche“, die seit 2012 als Teil der universitären Studium-Generale-Vortragsreihe „Was ist der Mensch?“ im Menschenaffenhaus des Zoos stattfinden. Diese Kooperation des Philosophischen Seminars der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal mit dem Zoologischen Garten Wuppertal bildet inzwischen eine eigene Vortragsreihe zur Primatologie, der biologischen sowie philosophischen Anthropologie: Aktuelle Forschungsberichte und wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse werden in Abendvorträgen mit anschließender Diskussion dort vorgestellt.

Und ja, er macht philosophische Denkbewegungen wirklich sichtbar, denn 2016 wurde Prof. Hartung mit dem Wuppertaler Lehrlöwen für hervorragende Lehre in der Kategorie "Innovationspreis" ausgezeichnet.

Uwe Blass (Gespräch vom 09.06.2016)


Prof. Dr. Gerald Hartung habilitierte 2002 an der Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften und Philosophie der Universität Leipzig und arbeitete dort als Privatdozent. 2008 kam er zunächst als Professorenvertreter an die Bergische Universität und übernahm 2010 dort den Lehrstuhl für Kulturphilosophie/ Ästhetik.

http://www.philosophie.uni-wuppertal.de/de/kulturphilosophie/professorinnen/prof-dr-gerald-hartung.html

Interner Presseartikel